Indian Railways Introduces New Trains: Time Table And Other Details

The Indian Railways runs about 3,500 reserved trains.
The Indian Railways runs about 3,500 reserved trains.

Indian Railways in its new time-table has announced that it will introduce more of its niche trains -- Antyodaya Express, Uday Express and Tejas Express -- in the next 12 months.

According to the Ministry of Railways' new 'Trains at a Glance' (TAG), includes the name of one new Antyodaya Express and two brand new Tejas Express trains.

Two new Uday Express trains -- the AC chair car double decker trains -- have also been included in the timetable. "Since these five new trains have been included in the new timetable, it is expected that they will be introduced soon," an official told news agency Press Trust of India (PTI). 

The Indian Railways, which has already introduced 23 Humsafar Express trains, 10 Antyodaya Express, one Tejas Express, one Uday Express, has now incorporated them in the new TAG. Antyodaya Express train is a long distance superfast service with fully unreserved coaches.

Here are the new routes on Uday Express trains:

Train No Frequnecy From To 22923 Monday,Wednesday, Saturday Bandra(T) (23.55) Jamnagar (14.35) 22924 Tuesday, Thursday, Sunday Jamnagar (20.00) Bandra(T) (10.20) 22701 Excluding Thursday, Sunday Visakhapatnam (05.45) Vijayawada (11.15) 22702 Excluding Sunday,Thursday Vijayawada (17.30) Visakhapatnam (22.05)

Here are the new routes on Tejas Express:

Train No Frequnecy From To
22425 Excluding Wednesday New Delhi (6.30) Chandigarh (9.30)
22426 Excluding Wednesday Chandigarh (17.55) New Delhi ( 20.55)
12585 Excluding Sunday, Thursday Lucknow Jn (06.50) New Delhi (13.35)
12586 Excluding Sunday, Thursday New Delhi (15.35) Lucknow Jn (22.05)

Here are the new routes on Antyodaya Express:

Train No Frequnecy From To
16189 Daily Tambaram (7.00) Sengottai (22.30)
16190 Daily Sengottai (06.00) Tambaram (22.30)

Among them, 12 trains are in the Northern Railway, five in the North Central Railway, one each in the East Central Railway and the North Western Railway and four trains in the South Central Railway which have been shifted. The statement also said that to avoid criss-cross movement at important stations, the terminals of important trains have been changed. In the current financial year, terminal of 23 trains have been shifted, the statement said. The idea was to decongest its terminals, an official said. A "terminal" or "terminus" is a station at the end of a railway line. Trains arriving there have to end their journeys (terminate) or reverse out of the station.    

The Indian Railways runs about 3,500 reserved trains which include Gatiman Express, Rajdhani Express, Humsafar Express, Tejas Express, Duronto Express, Antyodaya Express, Garib Rath Express, Shatabdi Express, Sampark Kranti Express, YUVA Express, Janshatabdi Express and other types of express trains. This is in addition to about 4,600 passenger and 5,000 EMU (electric multiple unit) trains. The volume of passengers carried daily is about 2.22 million. (With PTI Inputs)